The 7 Stages of Grieving | Queensland Theatre
04 May - 17 June [Past Event]

In a nutshell

Remaining a vital masterwork 20 years after it was penned by Wesley Enoch and Deborah Mailman, The 7 Stages of Grieving is a wise and powerful play about the grief of Aboriginal people and the hope of reconciliation. In this one-everywoman show, Chenoa Deemal (Queensland Theatre's Mother Courage and Her Children, St. Mary's in Exile) spins poignant stories of different people from different mobs – tear-streaked tales of tragedy go hand-in-hand with jubilant celebrations of simple survival.

Funny, devastatingly sad, politically relevant and culturally profound as it traverses the phases of Aboriginal history, The 7 Stages of Grieving is an invitation to face hard truths, to join hands and grieve. It shares true and personal stories that need to keep being told. And perhaps most importantly, it opens a dialogue about the issues that separate and unite Indigenous and non-Indigenous people.

“Watching that hit such an emotional chord, it stayed with me for years. Seeing a visual representation of a beautiful and established culture suddenly wiped clear with the stroke of a hand was emotionally jarring and brought to my attention how powerful theatre can be.” Chenoa Deemal

Touring Locations


4-5 May | Brisbane: QUT Gardens Theatre


10 May | Healesville: The Memo

12 May | Geelong: Geelong Performing Arts Centre 


16 – 20 May | Sydney: Sydney Opera House

23 – 27 May | Wollongong: Illawarra Performing Arts Centre

30 May – 3 June | Newcastle: Newcastle Civic Theatre

7 – 10 June | Parramatta: Riverside Theatre

13 – 14 June | Wyong: The Art House

16 – 17 June | Penrith: Joan Sutherland Performing Arts Centre

Queensland Theatre

Director: Jason Klarwein

Designer: Jessica Ross

Lighting Designer: Daniel Anderson

Sound Designer: Justin Harrison

Cast: Chenoa Deemal

Contains low level coarse language, flashing lights, a complete black-out and fog effects