Young Writers' Program | Queensland Theatre

Young Playwrights’ Award

Queensland Theatre’s Young Playwrights’ Award is one of Australia’s longest running annual playwriting competitions for young writers.

High school aged writers (9-12) are encouraged to submit an original play, that will be judged by a panel of industry professionals. The prize winner will receive Dramaturgy sessions with Queensland Theatre, a Gift Voucher and a reading of their work at Queensland Theatre’s Young Writers’ Night.

Applicants may submit a play of any genre or theme and must also provide a rationale of up to 150 words describing themselves as a writer and the inspiration for the work. We want to know who you are and why you feel this story was the one you wanted to tell. There are no restrictions regarding the length of the submitted play.

Competition closes Friday 18 August, 2017

Winner announced Monday 28 August, 2017

Queensland Theatre’s Young Writers’ Night is Thursday 12 October at Bille Brown Studio, Queensland Theatre.

To submit your play, click here.

For further information, please contact Laurel Collins, Programming Coordinator, on (07) 3010 7606 or lcollins@queenslandtheatre.com.au

Young Writers’ Group

Are you a keen writer? Do you have an idea for a play that you want to write?

Queensland Theatre’s Young Writers’ Group is for writers aged between 15 -19 years. The group provides an opportunity for emerging writers to develop their craft by participating in a series of workshops, facilitated by professional playwrights and industry professionals.

By the end of the workshop program, participants will:

  • have a working draft of an original play
  • have the opportunity for an excerpt of their work to be presented at a rehearsed reading at Queensland Theatre’s Young Writers’ Night on Thursday 12 October
  • see two productions from Queensland Theatre’s mainstage season

Workshop Schedule:

Term 1

Monday 27 March, Workshop 1, 6pm – 8pm

Term 2

Monday 24 April, Workshop 2, 6pm – 8pm
Monday 8 May, Workshop 3, 6pm – 8pm
Monday 22 May, Workshop 4, 6pm – 8pm
Monday 5 June, Workshop 5, 6pm – 8pm
Monday 19 June, Workshop 6, 6pm – 8pm
Monday 26 June, Excursion to see ‘Rice’ by Michelle Lee, 6pm – 9pm

Term 3

Monday 17 July, Workshop 7, 6pm – 8pm
Monday 24 July, Excursion to see ‘My Name is Jimi’ by Dimple Bani and Jimi Bani
Thursday 10 August, Workshop 8 with Senior Youth Ensemble, 6pm -8pm
Monday 14 August, Workshop 9, 6pm-8pm
Monday 4 September, Workshop 10, 6pm – 8pm

Term 4

Thursday 12 October, Young Writers’ Night, 6:30pm – 8:00pm
Monday 30 October, Debrief Dinner, 6pm – 8pm

Where: Queensland Theatre, 78 Montague Rd, South Brisbane.

Cost: $360

This cost is separated into 3 payments of $120.

To Apply: To apply for a place, fill in the application form below and include one example of your writing. This example could be a monologue, poem, scene, lyrics, essay, short or full play.

Applications close at midnight Friday 17 March, 2017. Successful applicants will be notified by Wednesday 20 March.

For more information about the Young Writers’ Program, contact Programming Coordinator, Laurel Collins, lcollins@queenslandtheatre.com.au or 07 3010 7606.